Wednesday, May 14, 2008

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit

h/t Vultus Chirsti

What are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit? The Catechism names them: wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord. It is customary to associate each day of the Octave of Pentecost with one of the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit:

Pentecost Sunday: Wisdom
Monday: Understanding
Tuesday: Counsel
Wednesday: Fortitude
Thursday: Knowledge
Friday: Piety
Saturday: Fear of the Lord

Read his post HERE

1 comment:

Athos said...

As a sponsor of an eighth-grade Confirmand last year, it is often repeated during the process that confirmation into full communion with the Catholic Church confers these Gifts of the Holy Spirit. I know I experienced them at my confirmation lo these 7 years ago.

For Girardians, one might ask: how are these pneumatic gifts empowering to one who must, as a Catholic, live in a world of sacrifice and the primitive Sacred but not of such a world?

In other words, we need to help "connect the dots" when we state the facts of the Faith. Living a life of the cardinal and theological virtues calls for an ever-growing awareness of God's Spirit leading and guiding one through faith in God the Son in the power of God the Father.

As we approach Trinity Sunday, these are pertinent "growing edges" given evidence of anti-truth all around us.